Iridessence Indeed

*Brighten Your World*

Hunger Indeed October 24, 2012

Once I wake up, in between work calls, and even staying awake all night with only a few hours sleep; I’ve completed the Hunger Games Trilogy. Two and a half days. This is particularly scary for my Lovely: “You’re reading a book? The end is near!”

Can’t blame him haha! I never could sit though reading books because it’s always a toss-up and rarity to find a good one that actually grapples me. When I do find one it is devastating afterwards because I know it will be a long time before I can find an equal or better read than the last.

I was driven to read the book(s) after a series of reasons. Some of my good friends are readers and bragged to me how good the books are around the time the movie came out, so I settled to watch the movie. After the movie though I wanted to know more! I watched the Extras in the movie where they mentioned it’s a non-sequal film. Jaw dropped I couldn’t believe that such an amazing movie was going to end there and with such a fantastic director! I was fixated in the back of my mind, needing to know what happens after they return home.  Then, opportunity to read the books presented itself. From there I was a goner. Reading obsessively and unable to break myself from the next sentence, the next chapter, the next book. Until I finished them all.

Only now that I have satisfied my quench for knowing what happens I really want them to make a sequel to the movie anyways!  I did some searching on the web to see if it’s maybe at least being thought about by others and turns out it much more than that. They are in the process of making The Hunger Games: Catching Fire now and should be out in November of 2013! I cannot wait until they finish all of them, I hate waiting for good movies haha! Though the director will be different it is very luckily they have kept the same cast for the characters, otherwise I would be drastically disappointed. I know you know what it’s like!

Overall, this was a fantastic book. Quite literally could not put it down! I will have you know that in addition to not being fond of reading this is the fastest I have ever read a book let alone this being 3!

Personally, I completely fell in love with Peeta! And (without trying to spoil anything) couldn’t bare his condition in Mockingjay, but that only made me adore him even more for how tragic and yet beautiful it all was. Props for creating such a miraculous and pure character!

The ending was decent but I guess I expected with all the lingering emotions that trickled through the book there would be a bit more depth to the ending. It was complete (at the least; enough) but it didn’t give that satisfying completeness that I believe the readers deserve. The emotions that tugged and jerked and drawn out sadness and longing throughout the books only to have the ending end the way it did. The last bits were too fast and separated from the characters and their exchange/conversations especially compared to the other 13k+ pages. I wanted to be there for those last happy moments, the way I was there for all the grueling ones.

Other than that, like I said previously; I loved the books. I have my own vision of the movies in my head and of the characters and I can’t wait to compare my version with the sequels. I can honestly say I have never done that before. Hopefully, though, I will feel the same about the movies to come as I did comparing the 1st movie with the 1st book.

If you have read this book I would love to hear what you have to say, your thoughts, and who your favorite character was!

Also, If you know of any other good books I would like to try reading more!

 

2 Responses to “Hunger Indeed”

  1. Angie Says:

    I love to read and one of the best books I have ever read is The Book of Negros by Lawrence Hill, When I first saw the book I thought I’d never get through it but I couldn’t seem to put it down. Another one I loved was Jade Peony by Wayson Choy.
    Angie


Leave a comment